Haridwar is situated on the right bank of holy river Ganges, comes under the state of Uttarakhand in North India. It attracts millions of tourists, devotees, and pilgrims every year because it has countless things to offer such as natural beauty, Temples, Ashrams, enchanting Ghats of Ganges and the activities held on Ghats every day such as Evening Aarti etc. It is considered as door to the four Dhams of North India namely Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamunotri. Haridwar literally means "Hari mean God" and "Dwar mean Door"; "the door of God". Haridwar is also one of the four venues of Kumbh fair, which occur after every 12 years here in Haridwar.

General Information:
Total area: 12.3 sq.km
Altitude: 2927 mts

Summer - Maximum 40 D.Celsius , Minimum 15 D.Celsius
Winter - Maximum 16 D. Celsius, Minimum 6 D. Celsius

How to Get There:

By Air: Nearest airport is Jolly grant Airport located a distance of 40 km from Haridwar and 20 km from Rishikesh.

By Train: Haridwar is well connected by trains from all important cities of India. Haridwar is well connected by Shatabdi trains from Delhi.

By Road: Haridwar is well connected by national highway no.58 and 74 from all the major cities of India.

Distances from some important cities of India are: 210 km from Delhi, 370 km from Agra, 52 km from Dehradun, 168 km from Ambala, 325 km from Badrinath, 250 km from Kedarnath, 300 km from Nainital

Local mode of transportation: City buses, Auto Rickshaw, Bicycle Rickshaw, Tonga ride and tourist taxies are used by local to commute within the city.

City Tour of Haridwar:

Hari-ki-Pauri : It is one of the significant Ghats of Haridwar. It is believed to say that, King Vikramaditya built it in the memory of his brother Bharthari who meditated in this place on the bank of Ganges. Hari-ki-Pauri is famous for sacred Ghat Brahmakund located within itself on the bank of Ganges where evening Aarti takes places. Brahmakund is regarded most sacred place to take holy dip during Kumbh Fair. It is also considered auspicious spot where drops of nectar fell over from the sky by celestial bird Garuda after Samudra Manthan.

Gaughat: It is situated on the right side of Brahmakun Ghat. It is believed that taking a holy dip in the water of Ganges on this Ghat gets you free from the sin of slaughtering cows.

Kushavarta Ghat: This Ghat was built by Queen Ahilyabai Holker, located near to Gau Ghat. Kushavarta Ghat is generally used for memorial rites. It is associated with the great saint of ancient times - Dattatreya who believed to have stood in the Kushavarta Ghat on one foot for 1000 years since he was believed to be going through a period of penitence.

Mansa Devi Temple: Mansa Devi Temple is situated atop the Bilwa Parvat on the Sivalik Hills dedicated to Goddess Mansa Devi. It attracts devotees from all across due to its significance. Idol of Mansa is a form of Shakti is said to have emerged from the mind of sage Kashyapa. It has a panoramic view of river Ganges and the plains of Haridwar city. It can be reached by cable car or trek. The word Mansa mean wish and it is believed to say that devotee's wishes will be granted while worshipping Goddess Mansa.

Chandidevi Temple: It is believed that the presence of Chandi Devi is mandatory wherever the abode of Goddess Mansa is. Chandi Devi temple is situated at the one end of Haridwar while Mansa Devi temple is at another end of the city. It is dedicated to Goddess Chandi Devi located atop the Neel Paravat on the Sivalik hills. According to the Hindu epics, Chandi devi is said to have killed demon Shumbh and Nishumbh here. Still two peaks by the name of Shumbh and Nishumbh existing in the mountain range. The idol of MA Kaali is installed in the temple at present time. The temple of Mata Anjani Devi (Mother of God Hanumana) is also established nearby.

Bharatmata Temple: It is eight storied temple, built in 1993 situated on the Saptsarovar road. It has floors and every single floor represents a specific theme of mother India temple. It is of 180 ft high. The first storey features the statue of mother India, hence named Bharat mata Mandir. Second floor features freedom fighters of India. Third storey features the most revered Indian women while fourth floor goes to the great saints of Jainism, Sikhism and Buddhism. Fifth floor stands for co-existence of all faiths in Indian subcontinent. Sixth floor is dedicated to Goddess of Shakti. Seventh floor features different incarnations of Lord Vishnu and eights floor is dedicated to Lord Shiva.

Saptarishi Ashram: According to the Indian epics, holy river Ganges is believed to have stopped from descending on the earth near Haridwar when she looked upon the Ashrams of Saptarishis at one place and could not decide to pass through any one of the Ashrams on way ahead. Due to the fear of curse and a matter of respect of great sages, Ganges stopped floating. Finally holy Ganges was told by deities to divide in seven streams to flow, hence area named Saptrishi or Sapt Sarovar. Saptrishi Ashrams is established here at present times.

Rajaji National Park: Rajaji national park is spread of area 820.42 sq km, established in 1983 after including Motichur, Cheela and Rajaji. It was named after the last governor general Chakrobarti C. Rajagopalacharya. Rajaji national park is famous for rare and endangered species of birds, animal, tigers and elephants etc. It has almost a group of 500 elephants in park, making it chief of "Shivalik Elephant Project".

Related Tours:
Uttarakhand Glimpeses
Uttarakhand Tour
Day trip to Haridwar
Haridwar Rishikesh Trip
Haridwar Tour

Please Fill Your Details

Please enter your name without space!
Our Trip Advisor will get back to you with package details and special offers !!

Why book with us?

Best Price Guarantee:
We value client contentment and therefore give the best deals.

Easy Booking:
Experience our user friendly online portals for the easy booking.

24/7 Customer Care:
Our travel experts are available
24X7 for any query.